Louisiana.gov logo > Explore > Emergency > Home Agencies  | Contacts  
Urgent! emergency.louisiana.gov  
            En Español       


Louisiana Economic Development Joins Forces with SBA and LSBDC to Assist Small Businesses Impacted by Oil Spill
10 centers in six parishes throughout Southeast Louisiana now open

BATON ROUGE (May 12, 2010) - This week, Louisiana Economic Development and the U.S. Small Business Administration opened Business Recovery Centers in six southeastern Louisiana parishes. Owners of small businesses who have been affected financially by the Deepwater Horizon BP Oil Spill can visit the centers to speak with SBA and Louisiana Small Business Development Center Network, or LSBDC, representatives about their options regarding the SBA Economic Injury Disaster Loan, or EIDL, program.

In response to a request from Gov. Bobby Jindal, SBA Administrator Karen Mills activated the loan program in 34 Louisiana parishes and seven counties in Mississippi.

At each center, LSBDC counselors and SBA customer service representatives are available for free, one-on-one consultations. Services include assistance with SBA's EIDL program and loan packaging support, a review of financial options for small businesses and other traditional counseling assistance. The deadline to apply for EIDL loans is Monday, Feb. 7, 2011.

"I encourage all small business owners potentially impacted by the oil spill to visit these centers," said LED Secretary Stephen Moret. "The counselors and representatives on hand will provide valuable assistance with the EIDL loan application process and determine the best options for small businesses in the impacted areas of South Louisiana."

The centers are scheduled to be open Mondays through Fridays at the following locations and times indicated. No appointment is necessary, and all services are free.

LSBDC Greater New Orleans Region
UNO Jefferson Center
3330 N. Causeway, Suite 422
Metairie, LA 70002
8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Grand Isle Community Center
The Rotary Room
3811 Highway 1
Grand Isle, LA 70358
8 a.m. to 5 p.m.

St. Patrick's Church
Family Life Center
28698 Highway 23
Port Sulphur, LA 70083
9 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Venice Boat Harbor Office
Tiger Pass Road
Venice, LA 70091
9 a.m. to 6 p.m.
SEEDCO Financial Southeast Louisiana Fisheries Assistance Center
212 Avenue G
Belle Chasse, LA 70037
9 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Gulf Coast Bank & Trust Company
1801 East Judge Perez Drive
Chalmette, LA 70043
9 a.m. to 4 p.m.
Business Recovery Center
7801 Hopedale Highway
Hopedale, LA 70085
9 a.m. to 6 p.m.

Business Recovery Center
1330 Bayou Lane
Trailer 102
Slidell, LA 70460
8 a.m. to 5 p.m.

South Lafourche Public Library
16241 East Main St.
Cut Off, LA 70345
Monday to Friday
9 a.m. to 6 p.m.

Vietnamese Initiatives in Economic Training
4655 Michoud Blvd., #D6
First Floor
New Orleans, LA 70129
8 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Eligible small businesses include those engaged in shrimping, crabbing and oyster fishing in waters affected by the closure (employees or crew members are not small businesses and are not eligible); small businesses dependent on the catching or sale of shrimp, crabs and oysters and suppliers of fishing gear and fuel; docks, boatyards, processors, wholesalers, shippers, retailers and other small businesses dependent on revenue from fishing, recreational and sports-fishing small businesses, and coastal small businesses.

For business owners who are unable to visit a center, they may obtain loan information and application forms by calling SBA's Customer Service Center at 800.659.2955 or 800.877.8339 for the hearing impaired, e-mailing disastercustomerservice@sba.gov, or visiting SBA's website at www.sba.gov/services/disasterassistance. They may also apply online using the electronic loan application on SBA's website at https://disasterloan.sba.gov/ela.

EIDL loans were activated in these 34 parishes: Acadia, Allen, Ascension, Assumption, Avoyelles, East Baton Rouge, East Feliciana, Evangeline, Iberia, Iberville, Jefferson, Jefferson Davis, Lafayette, Lafourche, Livingston, Orleans, Plaquemines, Pointe Coupee, Rapides, St. Bernard, St. Charles, St. Helena, St. James, St. John the Baptist, St. Landry, St. Martin, St. Mary, St. Tammany, Tangipahoa, Terrebonne, Vermilion, Washington, West Baton Rouge and West Feliciana parishes. The loans were also activated in these seven counties: Amite, Hancock, Marion, Pearl River, Pike, Walthall and Wilkinson.



Terms of Use   |   Contacts   |   Privacy and Security Policy   |   Link Policy   |   Accessibility Policy